Applications are now open for the European Commission, Technology and Arts (STARTS) Prize 2020. STARTS is an initiative of the European Commission to foster alliances of technology and artistic practice. As part of this initiative, the STARTS Prize awards the most pioneering collaborations and results in the field of creativity and innovation at the crossings of science and technology with the arts. The STARTS Prize of the European Commission is launched by Ars Electronica, BOZAR, and Waag.

The Competition

Science, Technology, and Arts (=STARTS) form a nexus with an extraordinarily high potential for creative innovation. And such innovation is considered to be precisely what’s called for if we’re to master the social, ecological and economic challenges that Europe will be facing in the near future.

The role of artists thus is no longer seen to be just about propagating scientific and technological knowledge and skills among the general public but much more as a kind of catalyst that can inspire and trigger innovative processes.


Two prizes, each with €20,000 prize money, are offered to honor innovative projects at the intersection of science, technology, and the arts: one for artistic exploration, and thus projects with the potential to influence or change the way technology is deployed, developed or perceived, and one for innovative collaboration between industry/technology and art/culture in ways that open up new paths for innovation.

  • Grand Prize – Artistic Exploration Awarded for artistic exploration and artworks where appropriation by the arts has a strong potential to influence or alter the use, deployment or perception of technology.
  • Grand Prize – Innovative Collaboration Awarded for innovative collaboration between industry or technology and the arts that open new pathways for innovation.
What can be Submitted?
  • Groundbreaking collaborations and projects are driven by both technology and the arts. Purely artistic or technologically driven projects are not the focus of this competition.
  • All forms of artistic works and practices with a strong link to innovation in technology, business and/or society; furthermore, STARTS is not restricted to a particular genre such as media art and digital art.
  • All types of technological and scientific research and development that has been inspired by art or involves artists as catalysts of novel thinking.
  • The jury is looking forward to receiving submissions from a broad variety of fields and disciplines. Among others, projects from the areas of new media applications, human-computer interaction, machine learning, biotechnology, art & science, green technologies, material research, smart cities, and citizen empowerment, robotics, quantum technology and many more are very welcome to apply.
Who can Apply?

Artists / creative professionals or the researchers/companies involved from throughout the world; STARTS is not limited to citizens of EU-member states.

How to Apply?
  1. Projects should not be older than two years or have to show a significant update or further development within the last two years.
  2. There is no fee to enter the STARTS Prize 2020 competition.
  3. To apply online, click here.
  4. The last to apply is March 2, 2020.

Email ID: startsprize@ars.electronica.art